Château Pradeaux

Provence Trip Part 2 – Bandol: Chateau Pradeaux

Leave a comment
Bandol, France, Mourvedre, Pradeaux, Provence, Travel

After our trip to Chateau Pibarnon, we decided to visit Chateau Pradeaux. The drive from Pibarnon to Pradeaux took us to St. Cyr-sur-Mer and let’s just say that Pradeaux is not signed out nearly as well as Pibarnon.

One definite warning about going to Pradeaux is that the entry to the chateau is a super-narrow alley of shrubs and bushes that will scratch even a fairly small car up pretty good and at times, there is real potential for damaging your car. SUVs and the like are out of the question.

Once there, you have to ring another bell and in our case, we got to taste with the owner’s daughter. We specifically tasted the 2006 Rose and the 2002 and 2001 Reds. Once again, I am having difficulty elaborating on the rose past the comment that it is a pleasure to drink, but by no means a religious experience or intellectual wine.

The 2001 Pradeaux red is a powerful, classy wine that is also has more rusticity than the Pibarnon examples we tasted. It is a big wine that will require much patience, but it was showing well, although a tad closed in my opinion.

The 2002 red was showing better in my opinion and will make a wine to be consumed earlier as well as accessible earlier. Both wines showed nice fruit, but emphasis on earth, funk, and longevity. I can see how these reds would lend themselves to some nicely grilled lamb with an olive and herb tapenade.

Pradeax does not have the view or facilities that Pibarnon has, but the wines are equally good, although stylistically slightly different, by being even leaner and terroir driven than Pibarnon. I highly recommend the reds of this domaine, but I would point out that this is really for fans of terroir driven wines with restrained fruit.

The next part will cover my visit at Pegau in Chateauneuf-du-Pape. Stay tuned.

Posted by

I am not a professional wine taster, nor do I have any professional training in the wine trade. I am a wine enthusiast who has spent countless hours tasting wines of many different styles. My palate is not aligned with a single wine critic, and I call all wines "as I taste them". My site is a source of tasting notes and wine recommendations as well as warnings without conflict of interest. You'll just have to figure out how your palate aligns with mine. My palate generally tends to veer towards Old-World wines that put a premium on terroir and lovely balance and finesse, rather than raw power...please keep that in mind as you read my notes.

Leave a Reply

