Clos des Papes

Provence Trip Part 4 – Chateauneuf du Pape: Clos des Papes

Leave a comment
Châteauneuf-du-Pape, France, Grenache, Provence, Red Wine, Rhône, Southern Rhône, Travel

Right after our appointment with Laurence Feraud, we decided on the spot to visit Clos des Papes. The domaine and tasting room are just a short walk away from the main drag in downtown Chateauneuf. It is however not a pleasant walk at present as the the Avenue Luxembourg is being restored.

At the domaine I noticed it is taken care of lovingly with beautiful rose bushes and the vineyard right behind the buildings. Take a look at the photos…

I was able to taste the 2005 CdP and what a beauty this wine is. I don’t believe it falls into the category of massive and overly powerful wines, but I believe it has great elegance and typicity paired with character and a unique flavor profile. It’s a dark wine that is already drinking awfully well with flavors of kirsch liqueur and garrigue, dried herbs and saddle leather. Underneath, I could taste earth and truffles and the promise of autumnal flavors and aromas.

This is a wine not to be missed. It costs a cool 34 Euros ex-domaine (and I bought a couple of them), so that should give you an idea of what the markup is when we are seeing prices between $65 and $100 here in the US.

Clos des Papes is one of my favorite Cdp producers…along with Pegau, Beaucastel, Vieux Telegraphe, Pierre Usseglio, and Vieux Donjon.

What are your experiences with Clos des Papes and what are your favorite CdPs?

Posted by

I am not a professional wine taster, nor do I have any professional training in the wine trade. I am a wine enthusiast who has spent countless hours tasting wines of many different styles. My palate is not aligned with a single wine critic, and I call all wines "as I taste them". My site is a source of tasting notes and wine recommendations as well as warnings without conflict of interest. You'll just have to figure out how your palate aligns with mine. My palate generally tends to veer towards Old-World wines that put a premium on terroir and lovely balance and finesse, rather than raw power...please keep that in mind as you read my notes.

Leave a Reply

