2003 Domaine du Gros’ Noré Bandol (France, Provence, Bandol)

Leave a comment
Bandol, France, Mourvedre, Provence


Usually 80% Mourvedre, 15% Grenache and 5% Cinsault. Bottled unfined and unfiltered and kept in vats for 18 months before bottling. Popped and poured. Dark garnet color, but completely translucent. Slightly reminiscent of CdP on the nose with a touch of grilled meat and dried herbs, but it’s smokier and beefier than most CdP would be. Also a hint of oil cured dry rosemary infused olives. Very nice velvety texture and good finish. Was a superb match for the Cascio del Bosco cheese I consumed with it (Tuscan truffled sheeps’ milk cheese). I will say that the 2003 vintage is showing up slightly with a slight lack of dry extract and an ever so slightly raisin and prune aftertaste. Still a very nice wine and great QPR that goes phenomenally well with food, but I don’t think it’s one of the stars of the appellation in the 2003 vintage. I much prefer Chateau Pradeaux and Pibarnon to Gros Nore in this vintage. I would also add as a final comment that I don’t think this will make old bones. I would recommend consumption in the next 5 years (despite Gros Nore saying that it should be forgotten in the cellar for 5-10 years in most vintages).

Posted by

I am not a professional wine taster, nor do I have any professional training in the wine trade. I am a wine enthusiast who has spent countless hours tasting wines of many different styles. My palate is not aligned with a single wine critic, and I call all wines "as I taste them". My site is a source of tasting notes and wine recommendations as well as warnings without conflict of interest. You'll just have to figure out how your palate aligns with mine. My palate generally tends to veer towards Old-World wines that put a premium on terroir and lovely balance and finesse, rather than raw power...please keep that in mind as you read my notes.

Leave a Reply

