2005 Clos des Papes is WineSpectator Wine of the Year

Leave a comment
Châteauneuf-du-Pape, Clos des Papes, Grenache, Rhône, Southern Rhône, Wine of the Year, Wine Spectator


This morning, Wine Spectator released to the public that 2005 Clos des Papes is its Wine of the Year. Although it is recognition for a great wine (I tasted and purchased it at the domaine in May — see my post from earlier in the year including pics), but prices have already begun to explode…and that’s before the actual magazine has hit newsstands.

The truth is that this wine, which I purchased for 35 Euro in May is now fast approaching $200 per bottle and I would think this wine could get to $250 to $300 per bottle without problem.

That’s the sad part about these popularity contests. Wines that used to be reasonably priced year in and year out become unattainable in a flash. Wine savvy folks like us just have to discover the next Clos des Papes before it becomes WS WOTY.

A sante.

Posted by

I am not a professional wine taster, nor do I have any professional training in the wine trade. I am a wine enthusiast who has spent countless hours tasting wines of many different styles. My palate is not aligned with a single wine critic, and I call all wines "as I taste them". My site is a source of tasting notes and wine recommendations as well as warnings without conflict of interest. You'll just have to figure out how your palate aligns with mine. My palate generally tends to veer towards Old-World wines that put a premium on terroir and lovely balance and finesse, rather than raw power...please keep that in mind as you read my notes.

Leave a Reply

