Barcelona

Trip Report Part 1: May 8 – May 9 (Barcelona)

Leave a comment
Red Wine, Rioja, Spain, Tapas, Tempranillo, Travel

Although the weather in Barcelona was pathetic, the food and wine were excellent. My wife and I love eating at a Cerveceria north of the Placa Catalunya. It also happens to be one of the first restaurants we had a date in (long story).

The Cerveceria Catalana is located on Calle Mallorca between the Rambla Catalunya and Carrer Balmes and the food is out of this world. Grilled shrimp, grilled squid, patatas bravas, jamon jabugo and many more tapas are simply outstanding. We ate there twice (dinner on 8th and lunch on the 9th) and I enjoyed some simple 2004 Marques de Caceres Rioja with dinner and a cerveza Damm with lunch. If you are in Barcelona, this gem is just enough off the beaten path to not have too many tourists in it at all. Must-do Tapas Bar when in Barcelona.

I also purchased a bottle of 2001 Coto de Imaz Rioja Reserva, which I drank at the rental apartment at night, and it, too, was very good. I’d buy some if I saw it on local shelves. Nice weight and texture without obtrusive oak made his wine a nice drink with cheese and bread at night.

Posted by

I am not a professional wine taster, nor do I have any professional training in the wine trade. I am a wine enthusiast who has spent countless hours tasting wines of many different styles. My palate is not aligned with a single wine critic, and I call all wines "as I taste them". My site is a source of tasting notes and wine recommendations as well as warnings without conflict of interest. You'll just have to figure out how your palate aligns with mine. My palate generally tends to veer towards Old-World wines that put a premium on terroir and lovely balance and finesse, rather than raw power...please keep that in mind as you read my notes.

Leave a Reply

