Lobster Fest Chez Pelz With a Quartet of Fine Wines

3 comments
Burgundy, Côte de Beaune, Champagne, Chardonnay, Châteauneuf-du-Pape, France, Grenache, Le Mesnil Sur Oger, Red Wine, Rhône, Southern Rhône, White Wine

Lobster is in season right now, and our local grocery store had Maine lobster on sale for a laughable price, so I decided to invite friends over for dinner to cook up some lobster and enjoy it with some good wine. So I ventured out 30 minutes before dinner and got a hold of 6 nice lobsters and prepared them three ways.

With Appetizers
– Sheep’s Cheese Puffs (Thanks Shannon and Dave – delicious)
– Lobster Salad
  • N.V. Jacques Selosse Champagne Grand Cru Blanc de Blancs Brut – France, Champagne
    Lovely Champagne. Started the evening with this gem. Elegant, finesse Champagne that shows a certain airy-ness. Super fine mousse, apple, blanched almonds, brioche, and raw dough. Only thing that detracts ever so slightly from its greatness is that is seems very sweet on the finish, so I wonder what the dosage levels of this wine are. But I am not complaining.

  • N.V. Pierre Peters Champagne Blanc de Blancs – France, Champagne, Le Mesnil Sur Oger, Champagne
    L012007. Best bottle yet. Diametrically opposed in style to the Selosse we enjoyed 30 minutes earlier. Seemingly big and brawny with lemon zest and massive minerality. Fresh and structured and with lots of bubbles. This particular bottle is showing the first signs of mellowing out though as the fruit is sweeter than I remember it, and the wine isn’t as angry as it used to be. Quite good and in its price class, this has to be one of the leaders for folks like me who like their Champagne super-low dosage.


With Main Courses

– Lobster in the Rough
– Lobster Broiled

  • 2004 Vincent Girardin Chassagne-Montrachet 1er Cru Les Caillerets – France, Burgundy, Côte de Beaune, Chassagne-Montrachet 1er Cru
    As usual, this was very reliable. Fairly ripe, it shows apple, a touch of lemon rind, limestone rock, and some buttered popcorn. The oak stands out just a touch. I might be wrong, but this seems ready to drink and I’m not sure I’d want to hold these too long…I don’t know if this has enough acidity to go the distance.


With Dessert

– Chocolate cream pie (Thanks Shannon and Dave)

  • 2004 Eddie Feraud Châteauneuf-du-Pape – France, Rhône, Southern Rhône, Châteauneuf-du-Pape
    This wine continues to impress me. It’s all about the wonderful Grenache fruit. In my opinion, this is a clean version (less bretty) of Pegau. Similarly traditional texture and fruit profile. Dark plum and blackberry fruit with some meat juice, provencal herbs, and licorice. Doesn’t get much better than this for cuvee tradition in CdP.

    Posted by

    I am not a professional wine taster, nor do I have any professional training in the wine trade. I am a wine enthusiast who has spent countless hours tasting wines of many different styles. My palate is not aligned with a single wine critic, and I call all wines "as I taste them". My site is a source of tasting notes and wine recommendations as well as warnings without conflict of interest. You'll just have to figure out how your palate aligns with mine. My palate generally tends to veer towards Old-World wines that put a premium on terroir and lovely balance and finesse, rather than raw power...please keep that in mind as you read my notes.

    3 thoughts on “Lobster Fest Chez Pelz With a Quartet of Fine Wines”

    1. Steffen, I agree with you on the Selosse. That bottle seemed sweet and consequently a touch flabby than others we've opened. I noticed this in a couple of other Selosse bottles a while ago – low acid, bubbles and maybe higher rs.

      Like

    2. Thanks Shannon. I am still a little insecure about my “Champagne palate”, so hearing that I wasn't imagining things is very encouraging.

      Like

    3. Jacques Selosse is very creamy nose with a sharp fortified wine (possibly sherry) aroma.The palate was very creamy, with notes of fruit, particularly strawberry. I like to drink it with Cuban cigars which are the Best Cigars in the world.

      Like

    Leave a Reply

    