Devoción Toro

Devoción Toro. Just got this coffee in and I was super excited to try it given that it seems like such a cool and unique project (ultra fresh beans sourced from ultra difficult plots of land to farm). As I opened the bag, first impression was that the beans looked roasted darker than I usually like. Once ground, the grinds also look noticeably dark. Aroma also on the heavier roast side. At this point I was getting concerned. The typical pour over yielded a very solid cup of coffee that has a lot of flavor and intensity (nothing wrong technically with this at all), but I find the flavors to be masked with the flavors of heavier roasting, which is such a shame. I taste very little apart from dark chocolate and caramel. My wife will probably really enjoy this, but I find this very disappointing. Marketing seems better than the product. Probably best to make Latte and Espresso with this stuff.

Leave a comment
Coffee

A follow up on this post. I have been in contact with folks from Devocion and they have counseled me against brewing Toro using paper filter drip methods. Instead, they suggest using Aeropress or Espresso method. I don’t do either of those two, so Toro is not a coffee I would buy again.

Be sure to contact Devocion before buying to better understand which of their coffees fit your favorite brew methods as not all coffees will fit all brew methods. Wild Forest worked well on drip method for example and ‘Honey’ and ‘Citrus’ might as well. Also note that their packaging is not 100% accurate because the Toro bags say that Toro works well with drip, which their own folks told me is inaccurate when I emailed back and forth with them.

from Instagram: http://ift.tt/2aP58Sc
Posted by

I am not a professional wine taster, nor do I have any professional training in the wine trade. I am a wine enthusiast who has spent countless hours tasting wines of many different styles. My palate is not aligned with a single wine critic, and I call all wines "as I taste them". My site is a source of tasting notes and wine recommendations as well as warnings without conflict of interest. You'll just have to figure out how your palate aligns with mine. My palate generally tends to veer towards Old-World wines that put a premium on terroir and lovely balance and finesse, rather than raw power...please keep that in mind as you read my notes.

Leave a Reply

